Instructional Course - Requires Course Pass, Additional Registration Required

Instructional Course

039IC - Urological Trauma & Reconstruction

Saturday, May 19
4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Location: MCC WEST, 2009

This course, which has been offered at the AUA Annual Meeting for many years, provides a comprehensive, case-based approach to the assessment and management of all types of urologic injury, while focusing on trauma due to external violence (as opposed to iatrogenic injury). The course has been updated over the past two years to increase the emphasis on evidenced-based management decisions, applicability of the AUA Guidelines, and the inclusion of both civilian and military trauma. The course is highly valuable to both our domestic and international attendees, as we demonstrate diagnostic and treatment approaches that are relevant in both the technology-replete, as well as austere care environments. The faculty provide a wealth of experience and clinical judgment in both straightforward and highly complex cases of urologic injury. Emphasis on the critical elements of related reconstructive surgery techniques are provided with case-based illustrations. The optimal working relationships between the urologist, the trauma surgeon, and other surgical specialists, are addressed.

Learning Objectives:

Michael Coburn

Professor and Chairman
Scott Department of Urology/Baylor College of Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine Houston, Texas

Michael Coburn, MD FACS
2018 Biosketch

Dr. Coburn is Professor and Chairman of the Scott Department of Urology at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. He is a graduate of Cornell University, and obtained his medical degree with Honors from the New York University School of Medicine in 1982. He completed his residency at Baylor College of Medicine, and then pursued fellowship training also at Baylor as an American Foundation for Urologic Disease Scholar.

Dr. Coburn served as Chief of Urology at Ben Taub Hospital from 1990 until 2012, focusing his clinical and research interests in the areas of urologic trauma, genital and urethral reconstructive surgery, and sexual and reproductive dysfunction.

Dr. Coburn serves as the Urology representative on the ACS Committee on Trauma, where he also Chairs the Advocacy Pillar and is a member of the COT Executive Committee. Dr. Coburn is the current President of the Society of Genito-Urinary Reconstructive Surgeons. He is a former Chair of the ACGME Residency Review Committee for Urology and has been extensively involved in educational leadership activities throughout his career.

Dr. Coburn is the recipient of many awards for his educational and clinical work, including the Robertson Presidential Educator Award for lifetime achievement in educational leadership at Baylor College of Medicine.


Send Email for Michael Coburn

Noel A. Armenakas

Weill Cornell Medical School


Send Email for Noel Armenakas

Steven J. Hudak

Brooke Army Medical Center and the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Steven J. Hudak, M.D., currently an active duty Lieutenant Colonel in the U.S. Army, a reconstructive urologist at Brooke Army Medical Center and the San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium, Associate Professor of Surgery at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences F. Edward Herbert School of Medicine, and Adjoint Associate Professor of Urology at the University of Texas Health Sciences Center San Antonio. Clinical training, current research interests, and ongoing clinical practice are focused on urologic trauma, prosthetics, and reconstructive genitourinary surgery. Has served on multiple organizations within the American Urological Association to further the advocacy, research, and training for GU trauma, including the AUA Urotrauma Clinical Guidelines Panel, the AUA Urotrauma Legislative Task Force, and the AUA Core Curriculum GU Trauma team.


Send Email for Steven Hudak

Allen F. Morey

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Allen F. Morey, MD, FACS is Professor and holder of the Distinguished Chair in Urologic Reconstruction, in honor of Allen F. Morey, M.D. and serves as Fellowship Director in Urologic Trauma, Reconstruction, and Prosthetics in the UT Southwestern Medical Center Department of Urology. He was the 2013 President of the South Central Section AUA, and the 2014 President of the Society of Genitourinary Reconstructive Surgeons (GURS). He has been Chair of the AUA Urotrauma Guidelines Committee, Director of the AUA Annual Review Course, and contributing editor in Trauma & Reconstruction for the Journal of Urology. Dr. Morey completed 20 years of active duty service in the U.S. Army Medical Corps, including assignments as Chief of Urology at Brooke Army Medical Center (1999-2006) and Urology Consultant to The Army Surgeon General (2003-2007). Dr. Morey won the 2016 AUA Distinguished Contribution Award.


Send Email for Allen Morey


039IC - Urological Trauma & Reconstruction

Attendees who have favorited this

Please enter your access key

The asset you are trying to access is locked. Please enter your access key to unlock.

Send Email for Urological Trauma & Reconstruction