Instructional Course - Requires Course Pass, Additional Registration Required

Instructional Course

056IC - Catastrophies, Complications & Corrections in Percutaneous Renal Surgery

Sunday, May 20
4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Location: MCC WEST, 2010

Videos of multiple clinical scenarios will be presented to a panel for an inter-active discussion with the audience on how they would deal with the problems. Actual cases will cover problems associated with access, dilation, nephroscopy, exit strategies, complications discovered immediately after the procedure, and delayed complications. Discussion will also cover intrarenal stones commonly encountered and stones in calyceal diverticuli, horseshoe kidneys, hypermobile kidneys, pelvic kidneys and transplant kidneys. In addition, course will address problems related to endopyelotomy and resection of upper tract transitional cell carcinoma.

Learning Objectives:

Arthur D. Smith

Hofstra University

Arthur D Smith
Chairman Emeritus
Arthur Smith Institute of Urology
Northwell Health System
Prof.Urology ,Hofstra Universty.
Founding President of Endourology Society
Founding President Videourology
I am still in full-time practice at the Smith Institute of Urology.
Recipient of Lifetime achievement award from AUA,Endourology Society and Society of International Urology


Send Email for Arthur Smith

Ralph V. Clayman

Univ. of California - Irvine

Dr. Ralph V. Clayman is a graduate of Grinnell College and the University of California - San Diego, School of Medicine. Following his residency in Urology at the University of Minnesota and an AUA research scholarship at the University of Texas - Southwestern, he spent 17 years at Washington University in St. Louis; attaining the rank of Professor of Urology and Radiology. In 1984, he initiated the first fellowship program in Endourology; more than 30 fellows have been trained, many of whom have current leadership positions in academic urology. In 1990, he and his surgical team performed the world’s first laparoscopic removal of a kidney. In January 2002, he accepted the Chair of the newly formed Department of Urology at the University of California – Irvine; within four years, the department was listed among the top 20 programs in the country. In 2009, he accepted the role of Dean of the School of Medicine at UC Irvine, serving in that role until 2015. During his tenure as dean, the school of medicine attained full accreditation from the LCME, achieved a positive financial balance, opened over 750,000 square feet of new space, and experienced significant growth in its academic profile. Dr. Clayman is a co-founder of the Endourology Society and continues to serve as co-editor of the Journal of Endourology. He holds 13 patents on devices/instruments used in minimally invasive surgery and has published over 400 peer reviewed manuscripts. Presently he is a Professor of Urology in the Department of Urology at UC Irvine and occupies an endowed Chair in Endourology established in 2015. He has an active clinical practice in urolithiasis and co-directs the endourology research laboratory and endourology fellowship program at UC Irvine.


Send Email for Ralph Clayman

Mahesh R. Desai

Muljibhai Patel Urological Association

A graduate of B.J. Medical College under the auspices of Pune University, India, Dr. Mahesh Desai pursued his post graduation (MS) studies from the same Alma Mater. Trained in Urology, he was a recipient of the Fellowship of the Royal Colleges of Surgeons of London and Edinburgh (FRCS) in 1973. A decade later, he took over as the Chairman of the Department of Uroglogy at Muljibhai Patel Urological Hospital (1983 - June, 2010), following which he served the Hospital as its Medical Director (June, 2010 - August, 2016). He now sits as the Managing Trustee of MPUH and Honorary Managing Director of Muljibhai Patel Society for Research in Nephro-Urology (February, 2001) and the Director of the Jayaramdas Patel Academic Center.

* President, Urological Society of India (2006-2007).
* President, Asian Society of Endourology (2008 - 2012).
* President, Society International d’Urologie (SIU) (October, 2011 - 2012).
* President: World Endourology Society (2012 – 2013)
* St Paul’s Medal British Association of Urological Surgeons 2012
* American Urological Association Citation 2012
* Qimpro Platinum Statesman Award in Healthcare Sector 2012
* Hon Membership: Urological Society of Australasia and New Zealand.
* Hon Membership: Singapore Urological Association
* Hon Membership: Chinese Urological Association.
* Richard Tiptaft Visiting Professorship, Guy’s Hospital. UK
* Life Time Achievement Award Endourology Society 2014
* Hon Membership: Urological Association of Asia
* Hon Fellowship: American College of Surgeons 2015


Send Email for Mahesh Desai

Evangelos N. Liatsikos

University of Patras, Greece

Dr Evangelos Liatsikos is the Chairman of the European Association of Urology Section of Uro- Technology (ESUT). He is a Professor of Urology at the University of Patras in Greece. He is a Guest Professor at the University of Leipzig in Germany and Adjunct Professor at the Medical University of Vienna, Austria. He is distinguished in literature for his research in Laparoscopy and Endourology, with his work accounting for more than 250 international publications. Dr. Liatsikos has also been invited as a speaker and live surgeon in a series of the most prestigious urological congresses worldwide. For his scientific contribution, Professor Liatsikos was nominated for the “Arthur Smith Endourology Lectureship” award in 2009 by the World Association of Endourology. He received the award of “Academic Endourology Fellowship Program Director” on November 2016 during the World Congress of Urology.


Send Email for Evangelos Liatsikos


056IC - Catastrophies, Complications & Corrections in Percutaneous Renal Surgery


Attendees who have favorited this

Please enter your access key

The asset you are trying to access is locked. Please enter your access key to unlock.

Send Email for Catastrophies, Complications & Corrections in Percutaneous Renal Surgery