Michael Coburn

Professor and Chairman
Scott Department of Urology/Baylor College of Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine Houston, Texas

Michael Coburn, MD FACS
2018 Biosketch

Dr. Coburn is Professor and Chairman of the Scott Department of Urology at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. He is a graduate of Cornell University, and obtained his medical degree with Honors from the New York University School of Medicine in 1982. He completed his residency at Baylor College of Medicine, and then pursued fellowship training also at Baylor as an American Foundation for Urologic Disease Scholar.

Dr. Coburn served as Chief of Urology at Ben Taub Hospital from 1990 until 2012, focusing his clinical and research interests in the areas of urologic trauma, genital and urethral reconstructive surgery, and sexual and reproductive dysfunction.

Dr. Coburn serves as the Urology representative on the ACS Committee on Trauma, where he also Chairs the Advocacy Pillar and is a member of the COT Executive Committee. Dr. Coburn is the current President of the Society of Genito-Urinary Reconstructive Surgeons. He is a former Chair of the ACGME Residency Review Committee for Urology and has been extensively involved in educational leadership activities throughout his career.

Dr. Coburn is the recipient of many awards for his educational and clinical work, including the Robertson Presidential Educator Award for lifetime achievement in educational leadership at Baylor College of Medicine.


Send Email for Michael Coburn