Claus G. Roehrborn

UT Southwestern Medical Center

Brief Biographical Sketch

Claus G. Roehrborn, MD
Professor and Chairman, Department of Urology
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, Texas

Claus G. Roehrborn, MD, was born and raised in West Germany. After attending medical school in Giessen, Germany, he began his residency in surgery and urology at the German Army Hospital in Giessen. In 1984, he came to Dallas, Texas, and continued his urology residency at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas. After finishing his residency in 1989 he won an American Foundation of Urologic Disease Scholarship and worked for 2 years with Dr. Jean Wilson in the field of androgen regulation of prostate development and growth. In 1992, he joined the urology faculty at University of Texas Southwestern, where he currently is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Urology.

His clinical activities focus on benign and malignant prostate diseases and he has performed nearly 2,000 robotic prostatectomies and several thousand minimally invasive and surgical/laser treatments for BPH. He recently helped to develop the UTSW MRI TRUS fusion program and has performed approximately 500 of such procedures

Dr. Roehrborn’s research interests are in the areas of benign and malignant prostate diseases, including medical and minimally invasive therapies for BPH, and markers for prostate cancer. His basic, translational and clinical research has yielded over 450 peer-reviewed publications, more than 30 book chapters, and numerous other contributions to the literature.

Dr. Roehrborn has been the lead researcher for the 1994 Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR) BPH Guidelines and has been involved in the American Urological Association (AUA) Guidelines efforts from their inception. He has chaired committees at the WHO-sponsored Consensus Conferences on BPH from 1994 through 2005, and is cochairman of the AUA BPH Guidelines Committee.


Send Email for Claus Roehrborn